Media-friendly bio

Shane W Smith is the creator of seven full-length graphic novels, and a number of shorter pieces. Three of his books have been shortlisted for national awards, including his latest graphic novel Undad, which tells the tale of a vegetarian family man who unexpectedly turns undead. He has a creative writing degree from the University of Canberra, and his oddest achievement is getting a comic published in a refereed academic journal. He is currently editing a massive and ambitious anthology of comics and prose entitled All The King’s Men, which should be out by the end of 2016. You can follow Shane’s writing misadventures at facebook.com/ShaneWSmith.Author/


Shane studied creative writing at the University of Canberra, and often wishes he was still there. His Honours project in Creative Research, entitled Academaesthetics: How The Essay And Comic Can Save Each Other, was published in the October 2007 edition of Text, a refereed academic journal, and is available to read for free.

Shane has been writing since before living memory. This website was created as an attempt to showcase his work, starting with an early (and inferior) draft of the graphic novel The Game. The next graphic novel Shane worked on, The Lesser Evil, was accepted for publication by ZetaBella, and is available to purchase in its entirety in both print and digital formats.

Peaceful Tomorrows, the sequel to The Lesser Evil, was published in two parts in 2013, and was a finalist in the 2013 Aurealis Awards in the Best Graphic Novel/Illustrated Book category. A fully redrafted version of The Game, which takes place in between the two books, was published in mid-2014, and was shortlisted for the 2014 Aurealis Award for Best Graphic Novel/Illustrated Book.

Shane is currently hard at work upon an anthology of shorter pieces set in the same universe entitled All The King’s Men. The anthology will be released on December 5; information about launch events and public appearances can be found here.

Shane’s other published titles include the zombie family drama Undad, which was shortlisted in the 2015 Australian Shadows Awards; and James Flamestar and the Stargazers, a post-apocalyptic-musical-adventure-romance made in collaboration with composer Tim Irving.

Works in progress include a fantasy epic entitled Triumviratus; a branching digital narrative entitled Line in the Sand; and a number of short stories which are currently seeking a loving forever home.


While in his third year of university, Shane met Katie Walsh, and his life was turned upside down forever. They got engaged on Christmas Eve 2007, and married on August 31, 2008. They bought their first house that October.

They are extremely happy. So happy in fact that they have decided to expand their family. Barkley the Cavalier King Charles Spaniel entered their family in December of 2008 (and sadly passed away in November of 2014). The amazing and talented Annie Walsh-Smith was born in February 2010; the happy and energetic Liam Walsh-Smith was born in June 2012; the blonde whirlwind Nella Walsh-Smith arrived on her due date in June 2014; and the tiny Molly Walsh-Smith was born in March 2016.

Becoming a parent was the best thing he ever did… even better than The Lesser Evil.

About this website

Not only does this website contain links to info pages about all of Shane’s various publishing endeavours (primarily graphic novels at this stage), but also contains a blog, a page collating quotes from reviews of his work, and a shop from which you can buy all his published work, as well as a page that allows you to sign up for his monthly newsletter, Shane-Mail.


Long books

Academaesthetics (2007)
The Lesser Evil (2011/12)
Peaceful Tomorrows (2013) (Aurealis Award finalist)
The Game (2014) (Aurealis Award finalist)
James Flamestar and the Stargazers (2014)
Undad (2015) (Australian Shadows finalist)
Undad – Volume Two (2015)

Short pieces

Custard (2006 FIRST – Vertebrae)
Parlour Tricks (2012)
Pestilence (2012) (with Gavin Thomson)
I Am Become Death (2013)
Killeroo: Gangwar (with Darren Close and Dan Gibbs) (coming 2014)
Exposure (2014)
A Moment In Time – Tango With Orangos (2015)

The Lesser Evil comes with Imperial endorsement.

The Lesser Evil comes with Imperial endorsement.

Works in progress

All The King’s Men
Line in the Sand


Selected interviews and guest spots

Podcast interview with Crowdfunding Comebacks (April 2015)
“The Evolving Zombie Metaphor” at Horror Talk (May 2015)
Podcast interview with The Modern Meltdown (May 2015)
Interview with QRD (June 2015)
Interview for Comic Con-Versation (June 2016)
ComixLaunch: Top Kickstarter tip (June 2016)
Podcast interview for So You Want To Be A Writer (June 2016)
Interview with Meri Amber (Sept 2016)


Follow Shane

on Twitter
on Facebook
via his mailing list



Email Shane